Children’s Page

Virtual Library

NHPL YouTube

Early Literacy Resources for Families

Explore digital resources for kids: music, films and audio books!  

Vroom Logo Circle - Child Care Aware® of Americaphone

hoopla digital

New Hampshire Book Awards:

The Great Stone Face Book Award 2021 Winner: Wildfire by Rodman Philbrick

See the new 2021-2022 nominees below and reserve one now!

The Barren Grounds, by David A.Robertson
Before the Ever After. by Jacqueline Woodson
The Blackbird Girls, by Anne Blankman
The Boy Who Failed Show and Tell, by Jordan Sonnenblick
Brave Like That, by Lindsey Stoddard
Fighting Words, by Kimberly Brubaker Bradley
Ground Zero, by Alan Gratz
Harvey Comes Home, by Colleen Nelson
The List of Things That Will Not Change, by Rebecca Stead
The Lonely Heart of Maybelle Lane, by Kate O’Shaughnessy
No Place for Monsters, by Kory Merritt
Pine Island Home, by Polly Horvath
Prairie Lotus, by Linda Sue Park
Raising Lumie, by Joan Bauer
The Silver Arrow, by Lev Grossman
Stepping Stones, by Lucy Knisley
The Truth According to Blue, by Eve Yohalem
Unplugged, by Gordon Korman
When Stars Are Scattered, by Victoria Jamieson & Omar Mohamed
Winterborne Home for Vengeance and Valor, by Ally Carter

Great Stone Face The Great Stone Face Book Award is given annually to an author whose book receives the most votes from 4th through 6th graders throughout the state.

See all 2021 nominees below and reserve one now!

Ladybug Picture Book Award is designed to promote early literacy and honor the best in recent children’s picture books

I Am Every Good Thing by Derrick Barnes and Gordon C. James
Hair Love by Matthew A. Cherry and Vashti Harrison
Hike by Pete Oswald
If You Come to Earth by Sophie Blackall
Lift by Minh Lê and Dan Santat
Nobody Hugs a Cactus by Carter Goodrich
Outside In by Deborah Underwood and Cindy Derby
Snail Crossing by Corey R. Tabor
Swashby and the Sea by Beth Ferry and Juana Martinez-Neal
We are Water Protectors by Carole Lindstrom and Michaela Goade

Ladybug Picture Book Award Winner 2020

There Are No Bears in This Bakery by Julia Sarcone-Roach

Cocheco – This award is given each year to an author whose book receives the most votes from third and fourth graders in Dover.

National Book Awards

Caldecott – Awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children.

Newberry – awarded annually by the American Library Association for the most distinguished American children’s book published the previous year.


Light Bulb clipart. Free download transparent .PNG | Creazilla

We’d love to hear from you for any ideas about books, events or programs.
Email the Youth Services team at

North Hampton Public Library subscribes to the Library Bill of Rights.  The library provides access to all library materials for all users, including internet access, within the library’s policies regarding acceptable use of the internet.

NHPL offers direct, unfiltered access to the Internet, as part of its commitment to public access to information. It should be known that, in keeping with the American Library Association’s statement on Library Use of Filtering Software, filtering is not employed by the NHPL.  More information

This commitment to provide free unfiltered access to information for all includes, but is not limited to the NHPL public access computers, chromebooks/boxes, laptops, and any other wired or wireless device used within the library.